Site Enhancements (MySQL)

Place all new suggestions here, for easy viewing.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Server Moderators

Forum rules
Suggestions is a moderated OOC forum.

Inflammatory bullshit, thread de-railing, or anything other than suggestions or constructive criticism may result in punitive action.
FreshFeesh
Game Name(s): Fresh_McFeesh

Site Enhancements (MySQL)

Post by FreshFeesh »

Since the server is moving / has moved to MySQL, and it's an easy database to work with, I figure some small amount of polling would show some interesting statistics here on the SZR site. I'm a sysadmin by trade, so making some headway into these wouldn't be a problem for me if you think they're a good idea:

Average/Max # of users online (24 hrs, 7 days, whatever)
Average/Max level/money/whatever
Biggest gang, or stats on all gangs
Most popular profession (by avg. level)
Players currently online (I know it's in SA-MP but still)
Most arrests
Longest playtime / age

And the like. I'm fairly sure the SQL calls would be lightweight, and we can generate stats every hour (or more/less often to taste) to further reduce load. After the eventual move to MTA, it shouldn't take much effort to tweak the queries, provided we know what data we want, and how we want it presented.
Jeremy "Fresh" McFeesh -- SAPD Cadet
Moe

Re: Site Enhancements (MySQL)

Post by Moe »

Revealing who's the most richest, the biggest gang and so on is just dumb.
The size of one gang may not compare to the dedication of another.

I highly doubt that Rachael would hire you.
Also, I kinda doubt that you even know how to make all of this.
Making a simple function to see who's the richest in PHP isn't that hard, on the other hand...